NUFO on Facebook NUFO on Twitter NUFO on YouTube NUFO on Blogger

[Join This Working Group]

Administrative Affairs Working Group

NUFO's primary mission is to facilitate communication among users, user organizations, facility administrators, and other stakeholders. The Administrative Affairs Working Group, which currently includes all administrative representatives of NUFO facilities, focuses on operational needs. The user administrators from NUFO facilities hold regular teleconferences, conduct benchmarking surveys, and discuss ways in which they can facilitate user access by standardizing and streamlining processes. Examples of prior successes and future endeavors include the following:

  • A NUFO representative worked with the Department of Energy as part of a team to rewrite DOE Order 142.3A (Foreign Visits & Assignments), which defines a program for unclassified foreign national access to DOE sites, information, technologies, and equipment. The experience and expertise of the NUFO user administrators helped to ensure that the revised order supports the importance of national security issues while maintaining the intellectual nature and scientific productivity of user facilities.
  • This Working Group is currently investigating the possibility of using Web-based user agreement execution process developed by Pacific Northwest National Laboratory to streamline this process at other national laboratories. Brookhaven National Laboratory and Argonne National Laboratory have agreed to serve as pilot sites.
  • This Working Group will collaborate with the Cyber and Computing Affairs Group to pursue a standardized cyber security training program that can be implemented by all facilities.

Administrative Affairs Working Group List Sever: Only members can post to this list. This list server is moderated and all requests by non-members will be rejected. Requests by members should be sent to info@nufo.org.

Members

Co-chairs - Kim Hallock (LLNL), Sue Ewing (Jlab)

Steering Committee Liaison - Susan Strasser (ANL)

NameAffiliationEmail
Susan Bailey Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory SBailey2@lbl.gov
Jill Berryman National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory (NSCL) berrymanJ@nscl.msu.edu
Heather Brown The Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies hdbrown@sandia.gov
Courtney Carpenter Environmental Molecular Sciences Laboratory courtney.carpenter@pnnl.gov
Gretchen Cisco Brookhaven National Laboratory gcisco@bnl.gov
Sue Ewing Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility ewing@jlab.org
Kim Hallock National Ignition Facility hallock1@llnl.gov
Tanya Herrera LANL tanyah@lanl.gov
Cindy Kendrick Oak Ridge National Laboratory kendrickcm@ornl.gov
Cathy Knotts SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory knotts@SLAC.Stanford.EDU
Terry Law Environmental Molecular Sciences Laboratory (EMSL) Terry.Law@nufo.org
Kathleen Nasta Brookhaven National Laboratory nasta@bnl.gov
Rich Poliak SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory rpoliak@slac.stanford.edu
Crystal Schrof Oak Ridge National Laboratory schrofca@ornl.gov
David Skinner National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center DESkinner@lbl.gov
Susan Strasser Argonne National Laboratory Susan.Strasser@nufo.org
Grace Webster Brookhaven National Laboratory gwebster@bnl.gov
Susan White-DePace Argonne National Laboratory Susan.White-DePace@nufo.org